Squam Yarn Bomb – Year 2

And the best year yet!  Once again, Jenn  (Siercia on Ravelry) organized a fabulous bomb. Several knitters contributed no longer needed swatches and larger pieces of knitting for ‘tree huggers’ (I LOVE that someone sent Jenn a package addressed to ‘The Yarn Bomber’.). Since I have spent much of 2012 on the knitting DL, my contribution was several hundred pom-poms which were used to adorn garlands, trees, buildings, furniture, and canoes. A yet-to-be-identified crafter created wonderful paint chip garlands that swung in the breeze on the path to Deephaven. (Dear YTBIC, Did you also contribute the heart garland?  That was so pretty, but it disappeared before I could snap a photo of it.)  There was also a tiny little pennant garland hovering at the base of a tree.  Perfectly adorable above the archway in the tree base.  (If you were the artist, please let me know.)

And while the paint chip garlands were wonderful and inspired and so gosh darn colorful, my favorite bomb was the owls.  Oh the owls!  I first heard about them from my friend Carol.
Carol: “Hey! Did you see the owl?”
Me: ” What owl? I heard loons last night, but not an owl.”
Carol:  “No silly, the yarn owl.  The one over by Greenwood.”
Me:  “WHAT?!?  There are wooly owls in the wild?  That’s awesome!”
At the next meal, the creator happened to toss a few at our table.
Stephanie  (soyknits on Ravelry) did a wonderful job creating the owls.  Each one was different.  Each one had it’s own personality.  And they were the buzz of RDC.  So fun spotting them in the wild.  Folks would adopt them as their own, or pick them up and move them to a different spot.  Those owls are tricksy.  I am now fostering two of them until next year’s Squam.  (Neither one has been neutered yet, so they may procreate between now and then.  Heh.)
 
And the ideas are already brewing for next year’s bomb.  Wait until you see what the poms will be doing next.
 
Tree Hugger contributors:
Danelover (Ravelry link)
 
Huge thanks to everyone who contributed!  Seeing all the yarny surprises around RDC, made be smile.
~ by Kat on June 14, 2012.

2 Responses to “Squam Yarn Bomb – Year 2”

  1. I have loved seeing the pom-poms in all the Squam recap posts. Congratulations on helping to create a magical weekend for everyone!

  2. I loved all the poms at Squam. I’m already thinking of a few ideas myself for what I can try to add next year.

Leave a Reply

 
